Skip to content

ALPINE SIGNALS

THOMAS KNEUBÜHLER

 , POUR COMMANDER ALPINE SIGNALS CLIQUEZ ICI

 

POUR COMMANDER ALPINE SIGNALS CLIQUEZ ICI

ALPINE SIGNALS

Description


Alpine Signals» est un portrait insolite des Alpes, basé sur vingt-six tours de téléphonie mobile en Engadine, une haute vallée du sud-est de la Suisse. L'artiste Thomas Kneubühler défie l'image romantique des Alpes avec les non-lieux du monde montagnard, et se rend dans des endroits qui ne sont généralement pas une destination. « Alpine Signaux » aborde des questions importantes, telles que notre relation avec la nature et le paysage en nous demandant : de combien de données avons-nous besoin, même dans le monde montagnard reculé?

 

Les photographies sont accompagnées de deux textes. L'auteur Romana Ganzoni, qui vit en Engadine, nous invite à une randonnée d'antenne à couper le souffle, et démystifie au passage nombre de clichés alpins. L'écrivaine canadienne Rebecca Duclos visite les Alpes dans un rêve. Dans son texte hybride, elle réfléchit au paradoxe des images et des rencontres à la fois sublimes et banales.

 

Alpine Signals – Vingt-six tours de téléphonie mobile en Engadine

Texte : Romana Ganzoni, Rebecca Duclos

Couverture rigide, 88 pages, 26 x 20,5 cm

anglais/allemand/français

VfmK Verlag für moderne Kunst, Vienne, 2021

38 $ CAN

 

Thomas Kneubühler utilise la photographie et la vidéo pour examiner des problèmes sociopolitiques complexes. Son travail est basé sur des recherches approfondies, y compris des travaux de terrain dans des endroits parfois éloignés ou dans des endroits où l'accès est restreint. Abordant les questions de pouvoir, l'exploitation des ressources naturelles ou les effets des nouvelles technologies sur la société, son travail a fait l'objet d'expositions et de projections en Europe et en Amérique du Nord. Il a reçu le Swiss Art Award en 2012 et a été chercheur au Center for Advanced Studies (CAS) de Sofia, Bulgarie, en 2018. Il vit et travaille à Montréal, parfois à Bâle, et visite régulièrement les Alpes. .
 

Haut de Page

Skip to content

ALPINE SIGNALS

THOMAS KNEUBÜHLER

 , TO ORDER ALPINE SIGNALS PLEASE CLICK HERE.

 

TO ORDER ALPINE SIGNALS PLEASE CLICK HERE.

ALPINE SIGNALS

Description

Alpine Signals» is an unusual portrait of the Alps, based on twentysix cell towers in the Engadin, a high valley in the south east part of Switzerland. The artist Thomas Kneubühler challenges the romantic image of the Alps with the non-lieux of the mountain world, and goes to places that are usually not a destination. «Alpine Signals» touches on important issues, such as our relationship with nature and landscape asking: how much data do we need, even in the remote mountain world?

The photographs are accompanied by two texts. The author Romana Ganzoni, who lives in the Engadin, invites us on a breathtaking antenna hike, and debunks a number of Alpine clichés in the process. The Canadian writer Rebecca Duclos visits the Alps in a dream. In her hybrid text, she reflects on the paradox of images and encounters which are at once sublime and banal.

Alpine Signals – Twentysix Cell Towers in the Engadin
Text: Romana Ganzoni, Rebecca Duclos
Hardcover, 88 pages, 26 x 20.5 cm
English/German/French
VfmK Verlag für moderne Kunst, Vienna, 2021

$38 CAN


Thomas Kneubühler uses photography and video to examine complex socio-political issues. His work is based on extensive research, including fieldwork in sometimes remote locations or in places where access is restricted. Addressing questions of power, the exploitation of natural resources or the effects of new technology on society, his work has been presented in exhibitions and screenings in both Europe and North America. He received the Swiss Art Award in 2012, and was a research fellow at the Centre for Advanced Studies (CAS) in Sofia, Bulgaria, in 2018. He lives and works in Montreal, sometimes in Basel, and visits the Alps on a regular basis.

Back To Top